First start issue that throttle fixes 96 2.3l

Discussion in '1993 - 1997 Ford Ranger' started by Carlthepal, May 22, 2021.

1. Carlthepal

Carlthepal New Member

Hi everybody, first time on a forum here so let me know if I mess anything up. I'm also not a professional mechanic, I'm wholly self taught

I have a 5 speed 96 ford ranger rwd 2.3l.

A little history if that helps. I bought it from a good friend who bought it from a good friend. I actually borrowed this car from the original owner a few years ago for months, and the thing ran like a champ, no problems. But it was a secondary vehicle for him so it's sat a lot since then. I love the car and would like to fix it but I'm at a loss.

So the problem. On initial start, it cranks, seems to start firing, revs up to 3,000 rpm and dies immediately. Unless you give it gas for the first few minutes, keeping the rpms at around 1,000. After that it runs and drives fine. Keeps a good 800 rpm, sounds good. The owner before me said it stumbled while idle at a light if he didnt give it some throttle sometimes but I haven't seen it yet. Maybe the gas was bad from sitting. It seems like you have to give it the pedal for less time after it's been running to stabilize her vitals

Things I've replaced with no luck:
    • IAC (idle air control)
    • MAF (mass air flow) (and reset battery)
    • Spark plugs
    • IAT (intake air temp)⁹
    • Etc (engine temperature control)
    • Air filter
    • Fuel filter

Things I've tested:
    • All fuses
    • Fuel pressure test from fuel rail was perfect
    • Battery voltage at 14v while running
    • Spraying starter fluid to find some intake leak
    • Pcv valve
    • Tracing vacuum hoses to make sure someone didn't forget one (not sure I got them all)
    • Using throttle cleaner spray to clean throttle body
    • Turning key multiple times to "prime" fuel pump or line
    • Adjusting throttle adjustment screw
    • Fuel injector cleaner in gas tank

I haven't done: