Exhaust ?'s

Discussion in '1998 - 2011 Ford Ranger' started by seriouscoin1, Apr 9, 2012.

1. seriouscoin1

seriouscoin1 New Member

K, so I want to do something with my exhaust. I believe I have a flowmaster 40 or 44, no sure. No markings to tell me what it is. It sounds nice, but it looks like I have 3 cats. I think the 2 that are behind each header is a resonator right?? Then there is a bigger one, the cat. Can I cut the resonators out? Will it give it any power? Sound? Just curious and I am constantly looking to change her :) I eventually want headers etc.

2. Ranger Forum Sign Up!

Join RangerForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford Ranger fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford Ranger Fans to meet online.
    Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Ford, and have a great time with other Ranger fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Ford you'll find that Ranger Forum is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join RnagerForum.com Today! JOIN FOR FREE

3. Don't touch the resonators. There's O2 sensors that will be affected and kill your gas mileage and in turn mess with your engine. The cat, you can gut that out and it will give you a bit of power and some sound.

4. OP
    seriouscoin1

seriouscoin1 New Member

Really? I did not see any sensors on them? I will have to check again. What about using bigger piping then with headers?

5. I know I have sensors after the resonators and before the cat. So yours should be the same. As for headers and bigger piping, that would give you a real good boost in power and some real good sound. Member Brinker88 has headers and a gutted cat leading to a Super 44 and he said it sounds amazing

6. djfllmn

djfllmn ^^^ I am Mr. Clean!

its also a federal offense messing with your cats

7. pooleo

pooleo New Member