Increase gas mileage??

Discussion in '1998 - 2011 Ford Ranger' started by blackmagic, Aug 21, 2012.

1. blackmagic

blackmagic New Member

hey, so im relatively new to working on my truck, but im going at it with open mind and taking everything in to learn what i can.
    ANYWAY! I am wondering if i get a Cold air intake or Ram air intake, with a catback exhaust would help in both performance and gas mileage,
    mostly the latter. any other ideas and what not?

2. Ranger Forum Sign Up!

Join RangerForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford Ranger fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford Ranger Fans to meet online.
    Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Ford, and have a great time with other Ranger fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Ford you'll find that Ranger Forum is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join RnagerForum.com Today! JOIN FOR FREE

3. hazard-maine

hazard-maine northern ranger driver

it will help, but not a huge amount, only like 1% to 2% gain, and it depends on what motor you have

4. mcdonald58

mcdonald58 New Member

how many miles are on your truck? what engine does it have? try replacing the plugs and wires if you have a lot of miles on it. and clean your throttle body and iac.

5. buy a prius for a daily driver use the truck when you need a truck

6. Freemans 00

Freemans 00 Active Member

^ exactly you wont get gas mileage in a Ranger best you can do is get a Chip or Tuner which is pricey and even that will only give you maybe 2mpg

7. Hooligan

Hooligan Rangerholic!!

Truck specs? Year make model engine size?

8. OP
    blackmagic

blackmagic New Member

its a 1999 ranger, 3.0L, Flux V6. and im really wondering if it's worth shilling out the $$$...
    and overall i would love same/better MPG and definately want it to be more fun to drive around...